What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Kings Chase Shopping Centre Generic Sidebar Stand Strong Krav Maga Kingswood Park Active Kingswood Business Association

What's on


Sunday 26th May 2019, 11.00am

26-27th: Kingswood Heritage Museum Bank Holiday Opening

Kingswood Heritage Museum

A major historical feature in the care of Kingwood Heritage Museum opens its gates to the public again on Bank Holiday 26/27 May, from 11.00am.

When William Champion's zinc making business in Warmley became successful in the eighteenth century, he built himself an elegant and imposing new house at the heart of his works. The surrounding gardens he added were particularly impressive, laid out in the then popular Dutch style. An essential feature of any large garden of that era was a grotto, and Champion's is thought to be the most extensive man-made grotto in the west country.

Another focal point was the large lake which was not only ornamental but also provided the water supply for the works. In the centre of the lake was an eight metre high stature of the Roman god Neptune with his trident. This is still there, and is believed to be the largest garden statue now standing in the country.

www.mykingswood.co.uk/kingswood/k...



Venue information

Kingswood Heritage Museum
Tower Lane, Warmley, BS30 8XT
www.kingswoodmuseum.org.uk



Red Door Coaching and Training

Other events

Thursday 23rd May 2019

Friday 24th May 2019

Sunday 26th May 2019

Monday 27th May 2019

Tuesday 28th May 2019

Wednesday 29th May 2019

Thursday 30th May 2019

Friday 31st May 2019

Sunday 2nd June 2019

Monday 3rd June 2019

Tuesday 4th June 2019

Wednesday 5th June 2019

Click here for more events.




© 2019 Cromhall Media Ltd